Advice for those new to OER

This is in response to an introduction in the Greetings area of OEG Connect where @Kath_b who just wandered in here was looking for advice to those new to creating OER. This is what we can do here- connect you!

So if you are new to OER, maybe introduce yourself, where you work/teach/study, subject areas, and maybe what are your top questions?

And if you are more experienced with OER, share a response, or offer a few suggestions for anyone new to them. Like one example we offer here from CCCOER is their reference site for Learn OER

I might also suggest the Iowa State University OER Starter Kit

https://iastate.pressbooks.pub/oerstarterkit/

but there are likely many many more suggestions.

4 Likes

This is great! Thanks very much @cogdog :raised_hands:t2: for sharing those links - that is just the kind of thing I am looking for.

A little bit about me: my background is in humanities research and education publishing and I am currently working with a small group of publishers and librarians to create an open resource for MLIS students. The resource will introduce the concept of engaged research and publication, with a specific emphasis on the public engagement between scholars and their partners and drawing on under-represented aspects of the humanities. The aim of the resource will be to equip MLIS students to create a values-based framework for supporting scholars and their partners.

We have lots of text and plenty of examples! And we’re keen to make the resource as interactive as possible with embedded videos and quizzes. We have ideas for using various tools for that, including H5P to test knowledge.

If there’s anyone here who could provide us with any inputs on assessment that would be wonderful!

We’re also focused on writing content that simplifies complex concepts - which am sure is a common aspiration. Any/all tips and hints there would be gratefully received!

Thank you!
Kath

1 Like