I am the Wikipedian - do you want to know how to deal with such hobby?

Ask me about Wikipedia - (and especially Wikipedia in education) and I will try to answer!

Thanks for starting an AMA. So what does a typical day look like for a Wikipedian?

Hi there!
I’m a student and I plan to contribute to Wikipedia eventually since it’s one of the best resources ever!
I was wondering how much time do you spend on average on a piece/page and at what point do you do like “I’ve done enough work and research, time to write the page and move on, and leave the rest to others”, like each topic is so vast in it’s own right and there is so much to be done.
Also how much time do you spend in a week on these, as it’s a hobby.

Thanks in advance!

Hi
how to prepare Wikipedia pages in vernacular language? What are do’s and do’nt?
Thank you

So imagine this: The evening before you watch a series on Netflix, you look at Wikipedia and you are flooded with surprise, because there is no article on Wikipedia about this series / actor / director. You think - cool, someone will write about it soon. Two days later, there’s still nothing. The weekend is coming. You sit down and write. It was supposed to be an hour, but suddenly you realize that it’s already 3 hours behind you, because you were looking for good sources, you checked information in the 4 language versions of Wikipedia, you were struggling with technicalities (tables, infoboxes). You finally click Publish and you are so very, very pleased! the next day you wake up with the thought: oh no, I did not add about it and about that, so in your free time you complete this article;) Even greater sense of mission when it comes to a famous person / important event etc.

But I miss also live edit-a-thons! It`s not so regular type of Wikipedian day, but it was so nice to meet with the other in the library/cafe/museum to write about certain topic together…