Pressbooks: private annotation tools

Hello OE Global Community!!

I’m a undergrad student who is working as a research assistant on a open textbook and I am LOVING creating H5P content and making the book as accessible as possible.

Does anyone know about an annotation tool for Pressbooks that is private?

I’m gaining familiarity with Hypothesis, but I don’t love how the default is public. I’m concerned that requiring students to take the step to save privately may be a barrier to them utilizing annotations.

Also, does anyone know if they make their pressbook available to download to pdf what the H5P content looks like?

Thank you so much!

Alexandra

2 Likes

Pinging @amysong from Pressbooks and @NateAngell (ex-hypothes.is) – maybe they have some helpful pointers? :innocent:

Hello Alexandra and welcome to the community here, and asking questions is what we love to see here.

I am a huge fan of H5P, it would be great to learn more about the project you are working on and even about the types of H5P you are creating. Also you will find a number of conversations here by either searching on H5P or using tags.

For alternatives to annotating in Pressbooks, one thing to consider is that for the most part Pressbooks are a hosted service, so you cannot add other tools to the platforms. The advantage of Hypothes.is is the social aspects, that you can see and interact with others (there are plenty of annotation tools if it’s just you annotating).

And yes, if you are using the free service, the only way to make activity private for classes is to set up groups. It can work, but relies on students remembering to choose their group first.

There are options to better manage it if you have Hypothes.is connected to a course management system like Canvas, where students access annotating via that login and not the public one. But that’s not an option for all schools (it costs $$).