What is open education?

Hi,

I am still new in this space and am a bit confused what exactly open education is.
What is your definition of open education and what is the goal and what is it not? Is there one main book which is seen as a must read? Also you are often writing, that the word open is being misused. In which ways?

thanks for the help!

Hello
Open education involves sharing, producing, and building on knowledge at no cost. Motivated individuals strive to promote education without seeking financial gain. They are intrinsically motivated and publish open educational resources under Creative Commons licenses. However, universities often misuse the term ā€œopen educationā€ by labeling their intentional business efforts as such. That is the only reason why most of the projects of some universities failed to sustain after the end of funding.

Have a look at some of the resources I have published under CC

https://www.merlot.org/merlot/materials.htm?contributorUserId=1384312&nosearchlanguage=true&fromAdvancedSearch=true&sort.property=dateCreated

Best Wishes
Munir

This e-mail may contain information that is privileged or confidential. If you are not the intended recipient, please delete the e-mail and any attachments and notify immediately.

In regards to resources for open education, you may be interested in reading some works from Lawrence Lessig. If my memory serves me, he is a legal scholar who helped setup the Creative Commons licensing system. His earlier works in this regard are ā€œFree Cultureā€ and ā€œCode and Other Laws of Cyberspaceā€.

Hi,
I made a few short explainers here:

and a blog post to demystify open:

hope they help!
Teresa