ICDE OER Advocacy Committee: OER and AI

Hi, I am Ebba Ossiannilsson
I am an independent researcher, quality reviewer, and expert in OFDL, leadership, and OER based in Sweden. I am in my second term and have been a board member of the International Council of Distance Education (ICDE) since 2019). I have been the Chair of the ICDE OER Advocacy Committee (OERAC) since 2018 (almost already in 2017). Currently, we have 11 Ambassadors representing all six global regions.

I was very honored and delighted when I received the OE Global Award, Open Leadership, last year in 2022, and the ICDE OER OERAC was shortlisted in the Open Collaboration category.

Recently, at the ICDE World Conference 2023 in Costa Rica we at ICDE OERAC organized an interactive workshop on “The role of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in the context of Open Educational Resources (OER)", which was attended by about 80 international delegates who discussed the UNESCO Recommendation on Open Educational Resources (OER) and its five areas and the implications with and for AI. We are currently working on an article to be published in the ICDE Journal Open Praxis.

Another event on the same theme will be held on the 27th of November 2023 in Mexico at the inauguración del 31 Encuentro Internacional de Educación a Distancia (online).

The future of OER and AI brings a lot of interesting challenges and discussions, let’s continue the conversations. Together we can make a difference towards quality, accessible, inclusive equity education and learning possibilities/education for all. Not leaving anyone behind!

Our ICDE OERAC has also published during the years several articles. Just to mention some: