Ideas for using Open Ed technologies and resources for information literacy instruction?

I have been really moved and excited about the new ways of involving students and getting them more pro-actively involved in their own education- especially with non-disposable/renewable (and I still am learning, so not sure if there have been evolving definitions to differentiate those two terms- there are so many wonderful webinars, and there is only so much time to catch up on the ones I’ve missed!) assignments. I’m a college librarian, so my main instruction experience is with first-year college students and helping them with their first steps on their information literacy journey. Because the skill-level of first-year students has such an enormous range in ability and interest (some students are only present because they are being pushed by their parents, some are highly motivated to get their “core” courses out of the way, and intend to eventually graduate from a 4-year institution). This variation creates a lot of challenges for all instructors, and I find myself trying to find new ways that will be helpful in engaging all of these students in understanding the basics of citations and citation software. I was thinking an ideal (or possible) first assignment would be to ask them to take a picture of a bookshelf in the room, and then have the activity to be them creating an account using a source such as Zotero or Mendeley, and creating a citation library of the books they own. If they forget a picture, then I could provide them with pictures of sections within our library, which they could then use. The ideal student learning outcome of this activity would be to get them familiar with a citation software, and with the process of “tagging” and annotated bibliographies. I’m wondering about other assignments using these sources at an introductory level people have tried (both successful and unsuccessful) and also looking for feedback- does this sound like an activity that wo