Not So Magic Tricks for Open Licensed Image Use

This topic is more of an ongoing interest, both in spreading the understanding of not just finding open licensed images for reuse (see my box of tricks), but also remixing, and the all important step of attribution (a long running blog topic of mine).

I am an avid photographer and sharer of them in flickr, and I enjoy both finding/reusing photos for metaphors in my writing and projects, but also remixing them. I am a bit of a PhotoShop geek, still more to learn with this software than I know and I have used it since version 1.0!

The Relevance to Open Education

While much of the focus of OER these days is on larger chunks of content (e,g, textbooks), images to me has always been of interest in understanding open licenses and remix, because they are a granular media used in those bigger projects.

I Will Speak Here About…

What kind of magic tricks will happen here? Hmmm. these will come out of my ongoing media work, stuff I do and use on a regular basis as I use various tools and resources for finding/remixing media.

This space is also open to you to share your own tricks or ask for ideas.

Note: This is one example of an Idea Corner topic - you can start your own here, just make a new topic, post, share, do something, update, repeat!

First up is a flickr trick I learned so long ago that I remember easily the URL needed to make it work. It’s… magic.

Imgur

Snap That Magic flickr photo by cogdogblog shared into the public domain using Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication (CC0)

I am a huge fan of flickr, I joined in 2004 a month after they launched. Creative Commons was baked n almost from the start. It’s my place for not just posting my photos (all CCo, that’s another story), but finding open licensed ones to use for my work, but also participating in groups and discussions.